Sadness and Humor Juxtaposed

Through Stephen, I was led to the blog of Bob Harris – apparently the author of Prisoner of Trebekistan.

But this particular entry was just hilarious and yet I felt bad laughing at it.  I suppose if it was intentional it would be much less funny.  Whereas this is just an example of how you can never plan for all the strangeness of how technology will play out – such as Google’s AdWords, tailoring your advertising to your search interests.

On a less philosophical note, the book looks like it might be fun to read – however I can’t be sure, seeing as how two of the most glowing reviews came from 1) the author’s girlfriend, Jane Espenson (Stephen also pointed me to her own blog), and 2) Joss Whedon, creator of the completely awesome Firefly (which just happens to have as one of its writers… you guessed it, Jane Espenson).  I mean, I like their taste – but how to separate true appreciation from sticking up for your friends?

They also apparently worked on Buffy the Vampire Slayer – which I’ve only caught glimpses of, but perhaps should watch (given that Firefly only lasted 12 episodes – a victim of bureaucratic bungling).

If you ever get a chance, check out Firefly – so I can determine if it really is as good as I think, or yet another instance of my flexible standards in action.  🙂

3 Responses to “Sadness and Humor Juxtaposed”

  1. I will eventually check it out. But don’t be too hard on yourself. Yes, you like a lot of crap. =)

    But I think you can distinguish between guilty pleasures (like almost any comedy with Meg Ryan besides WHEN HARRY MET SALLY) and more substantial entertainments (or at least more original ones) like FIREFLY.

  2. I don’t think Meg will ever top her performance in When Harry Met Sally.

  3. Word–that’s as good as it gets.

Leave a Reply

