Quirkology and lying

So I’m randomly visiting The Situationist again – I needed to relax and do some reading for enjoyment – and I stumbled across some info on the site quirkology.com.  You should check it out.  In fact, it appears to be quite popular on YouTube.  If you get a chance to view the color changing card trick, please do.  I found it pretty interesting… though I’m not sure what insight it is supposed to grant us.

The second thing I looked into got me more curious, though it gives no feedback (at least, as of yet).  It’s a lie-detection video experiment and I’m very curious as to why I made the decision I did.  Does it have to do with my own personal taste?  Or did I really see something in his delivery that gave me a clue?  This is especially interesting since I’m still in the middle of Social Intelligence, which discusses at length how we read faces to make decisions on someone’s inner thoughts and/or intentions.   I’d be curious if you guys give it a try and share your feedback.

There’s lots more to see, but I wanted to get my thoughts down while they were fresh.

Leave a Reply

