The Mississippi Delta Was Shining Like a National Guitar

Just got through watching a tribute to Paul Simon last night (no, not that Paul Simon – this one). He was awarded the first annual Gershwin Prize by the Library of Congress – for contributions of “a composer or performer whose lifetime contributions exemplify the standard of excellence associated with the Gershwins.” I knew I liked Paul Simon, but I’d forgotten just how much ’til I got a chance to hear many of his best performed by Simon himself, as well as by many other musical greats.

It turns out, the ceremony was held back at the end of May, but wasn’t broadcast until last night. I’m grateful to my father-in-law who told me to turn it on (he knows I enjoy Ladysmith Black Mambazo – and they were, of course, among those performing), because I watch so little television that I never would have seen it otherwise. I didn’t get to see all of it, but did get to see Ladysmith, Lyle Lovett, James Taylor, Stevie Wonder, the Dixie Hummingbirds, Alison Krauss, some great video footage of a few of Simon’s memorable moments… if you ever get a chance to check it out, I think you’ll enjoy it.

I’ve added a few clips I could find on YouTube below… enjoy!

Leave a Reply

