Engrish

Thanks to Daniyel for pointing me in the direction of this site on the beauties of the English language (more specifically, on the beauties of others attempting to speak or write in English). Some are better than others, but I figured I’d grace you all with this lovingly designed ad for (I’m guessing) a picture studio.

Cracks me up! 😉

godam-baby.jpg

3 Responses to “Engrish”

  1. That’s funny. It reminds me of being in Japan – tons of print materials in stores that used what they *thought* were witty or profound English phrases – they were actually just confusing and random sounding to me.

    Ah, the beauties of language.

  2. Yeah, that’s a fun site. I’m sure some people get offended by the impression that the site is poking fun at people.

    The flipside to this, of course, is that as English increasingly becomes the global lingua franca we should be grateful as tourists and business travelers because there aren’t too many places on the planet where that subspecies of our race, Ignoramus Americanus, can’t get by perfectly well on the courtesy and well speaked Engrish of strangers.

Leave a Reply

