“Like Such As”

While I’m hesitant to just jump on the bandwagon with the vast number of sites that will likely blog on this topic, it really is fun and interesting (at least to me).

Somebody has compiled a list of memorable quotes for the year 2007. Their methodology is not known to me at this time, but their results make for a humorous moment or two. I actually was surprised to hear the (apparently famous) quote: “Don’t Tase Me, Bro!” It just goes to show how out of touch I am when I listen solely to Books on CD… no NPR, no idea of current events. 🙂

While I’m sure from what I’ve since read that “Don’t Tase Me, Bro!” does deserve its memorable place on the list, the quote that really stuck with me te most… and, to my mind, the funniest is Lauren Upton’s sad response in the Miss Teen America pageant to the question of why one fifth of Americans are unable to locate the United States on a map:

I personally believe that U.S. Americans are unable to do so because some people out there in our nation don’t have maps and I believe that our education like such as in South Africa and Iraq and everywhere like such as and I believe that they should our education over here in the U.S. should help the U.S. or should help South Africa and should help Iraq and the Asian countries so we will be able to build up our future for us.

Poor thing – it’s bad enough to get tongue-tied in a stressful situation, but to be videorecorded and distributed across the internet within moments can’t be easy. Nonetheless, it really is hilarious to try to parse her thoughts… 🙂

I suspect it’s a good thing they didn’t ask her to point out where the U.S. is on a map.

Then, of course, there’s my second favorite – coming in at #10:

I think as far as the adverse impact on the nation around the world, this administration has been the worst in history. — Former President Jimmy Carter in an interview in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazett

Regardless of your partisan leanings, this one’s pretty-near undeniable.

Enjoy.

3 Responses to ““Like Such As””

  1. Her comments are informed by the way politicians speak when they want to sound informed and articulate (but aren’t), but she’s obviously not as polished. How fair is it to her? Well, she is the one that decided to go on a national contest for presentation (beauty or otherwise) – you’d think she spend some time and money on a speech coach.

    As someone who has to spend a great deal of time making presentations to convince people of something – no, I’m not talking about teaching, I’m talking about committees – young people really need to learn the importance of knowing your stuff, practicing how to present it, and reading/listening to others who know how.

    But then, where would we get great moments like this one?

  2. Good point about spending time and money on a speech coach! 😉

    And yeah, she should’ve known her stuff and shouldn’t have been on such a scrutinized contest if she couldn’t hack it, but I nonetheless feel some sympathy due to the juggernaut of mockery that is the internet.

    But in truth it doesn’t compare to the mockery of “William Hung” or “Lightsaber Boy”! Then again, Hung’s turned into a celebrity of sorts.

  3. I agree with Peter — when I saw Lauren Upton’s video, it really struck me as a political sort of speech. You might not know the answer, but you have to say *something*.

Leave a Reply

