An amalgamation – TV double-take

A few interesting articles, recommended for your viewing/reading pleasure:

Real thugs comment on The Wire (I don’t watch The Wire, but I’m intrigued just because of this article). It’s a pretty cool concept… though I can’t imagine being the journalist who hangs out with these guys… I mean, how’d that ever come about?

More Coding Horror… on what House has in common with the features that sell products. His title says it all: Every User Lies. 🙂 I’m thinking this might help me become a more aware user… do I really need that feature??? And maybe, just maybe, I might RTFM. 😉

3 Responses to “An amalgamation – TV double-take”

  1. Not really a journalist. The book is by a sociologist/ethnographer.

    And I think it’s a completely valid subject (not that you’re arguing against it).

    I remember when I saw the book come out I was very tempted to buy it. But instead I jacked it proper from Border’s, yo.

  2. yeah, didn’t have the time to figure out the proper title… so chose “journalist”.

    I just can’t imagine how the guy got connected. I mean, did he walk into the hood and say, “Yo! I’m writing a book on y’all. Take me to your homies!” 😉

  3. Yeah, that’s pretty much how he did it. But probably not as smooth.

    It does really seem like an interesting book.

    According to Wikipedia the author also contributed a chapter to Freakonomics entitled, “Why Do Drug Dealers Still Live With Their Moms?”

    Which reminds me yet again that I do need to read that.

Leave a Reply

