Discipline

So I asked a girl to move to her assigned seat today… she was one seat removed (and thus occupying someone else’s seat), and apparently this was just too much to be asked of her.  She instantly blew up – complaining, muttering under her breath, and in general just causing a stink because of my temerity.

I caught the words “…only one tripping about these stupid-ass seats…,” and quickly realized that this was only going to grow worse (Not to mention, I would soon lose my temper right back.  Not a pretty picture.) , so I told her she should leave.  Standard protocol calls for me to fill out paperwork and process her through our in-house detention, but this class is full of a dozen more just like her who will lose it if I don’t keep them occupied every waking moment.  So I just let her disappear and trust she’ll not get into too much trouble, wherever she’s going.

As she walks by me, she’s still muttering – I catch, “… your four-eyed ass.”  Well, that makes me feel better. 😡

I’ll process her on Monday (now that I’ve had a moment’s silence to process the requisite paperwork) and hopefully will have a day or two more sans said student.  But I’m wondering if I can somehow keep her out until I get an apology.  I mean, she just lit into me like I’d verbally assaulted her or something.

The funny thing is (and I don’t mean hilarious)  that I just had another incident with her earlier this week (milder, however) and tried to explain to her that she should keep silent until she’s calmer and then discuss with me whatever has her so irate.  Somehow, I’m figuring she didn’t catch my drift.

TGIF?  I wish it was summer!

3 Responses to “Discipline”

  1. Dude. I so seriously sympathize for you. My empathy is limited to my substitute teaching experience at Columbus public junior high schools (about 20 different ones).

    America needs to seriously reconsider its compulsory education after the age of 14. Think about it – what’s the difference between a girls like her in June as a senior, and the same girls three months later at community college? Emotionally, nothing; situationally, everything.

    She may not like various things about a teacher or a class, but there is only so much she can complain about – its her choice to be there – no one is making her take college classes. It’s amazing how much that changes things.

    I’m not saying students don’t complain – I just had one in today, but it’s a much different dynamic.

    My brother has had *years* of experience teaching at the junior high level – many HS are not much above that emotionally. He lays down the law early on, and then eases up as the students show a capacity to act maturely. I think you’ll find that you’re going to have to be a hard nose. Students will ultimately respect that. My 2 cents.

  2. You may enjoy this post at the Tomorrow’s Professor website. It has a list of rules that the author implements in his (college level) classroom. Some of it seems over the top, and most of it is probably not applicable for your classes, but it’s kinda nice to sit and daydream about a world where students always say “Hello” to the teacher, etc.

  3. thanks for the link! I haven’t had a chance to check it out yet, but sounds good.

    Incidentally, a situational update… student suspended for 5 days! (to put that in perspective, several teachers I spoke with were pleasantly surprised to hear of swift and decisive judgment that sends a message – it’s not the modus operandi of most administrators I work with) If this happened more often, I think we’d have a drastically reduced amount of behavior problems.

Leave a Reply

