Doomsday Book

I haven’t read this in a while, but just wanted to sort of comment-at-a-distance re: M-mv’s blog entry on this book. I do remember thoroughly enjoying it – I enjoyed imagining the period involved (the Middle Ages, specifically the time of the Black Plague), and I just love sci-fi in general. On the other hand, a friend to whom I recommended the book was less than impressed, so it’s good to see a positive reaction.

Interestingly, I just got my wife to read To Say Nothing of the Dog (also by Willis) and it seems like she might be enjoying it, though not nearly as much as I did. I guess it just means that my tastes are a bit out of the mainstream (I’m figuring my wife to be more of a mainstream reader than myself). However, while I’m on the topic of Willis, I also remember really enjoying (what I think was) a short story, entitled Blue Moon. If you get a chance (and like sci-fi), check it out.

addendum: while double-checking my facts (that Blue Moon truly is a short story), I discovered that another short story exists (Fire Watch) that also deals with time-traveling Oxfordians (Oxforders?). I’ll have to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

