Dr. George Fishbeck would roll over in his grave!

of course, he might still be alive – he’s an awfully hard-to-track-down guy.

Anyhow, the pertinent point is that I’ve come across another fascinating Freakonomics article; this one dealing with the inconsistency and inaccuracy of weather reports. To be it’s supremely ironic that I stumbled across this a mere day after ranting about a similar problem in the news’ treatment of the course of the stock market.

A lot of it (the article) sort of dovetails with common sense, though it’s so easy to just assume that the newscasters actually know what they’re doing… but then again, that’s exactly my problem with stock reporting; you trust them to know what they’re talking about, and often they don’t have the decency to admit they simply don’t know.

As for Dr. George, well that’s just a blast from my past. I haven’t thought of him in years, until I was trying to come up with a ‘different’ title for this post. I think he will always be my image of a stereotypical weatherman from the ‘good old days’ – back before Dallas Raines (is that really his legal name?) or Christopher Nance or the comic Fritz Coleman. And in trying to look up whatever became of him, I stumbled across this little post which surprised me by informing me that Dr. George is immortalized in a Tom Waits song (I’m guessing Writin Wrong has heard it at some point).

To summarize, I quote from the article:

The takeaway message? Do not plan your weekend activities based on the T.V. weather forecasts unless it is already Thursday β€” but waiting until Friday would be even better.

5 Responses to “Dr. George Fishbeck would roll over in his grave!”

  1. I recently took a tour of a local TV news station, and it just happened that the guy giving the tour was the head weatherman for the station. The most interesting thing I learned was that the weather people basically look at a bunch of weather models provided by the national weather service, and then choose which one(s) they think are going to be right. This is apparently a bit of an art, because the models won’t always agree, and the most frequent prediction isn’t always the correct one. But yeah, they definitely gave the impression that it’s tough to get things right more than a few days out.

  2. I just tlked to Dr. George for about 20 min. he was not rolling or in his grave. He lives in Woodland Hills.

  3. Glad to hear it, Rick! Thanks for the update! I didn’t mean to imply anything by the title to this post, but it probably wasn’t the best choice of words… πŸ™‚

    And a big thank you to Dr. George!!! Thank you for good memories and an iconic image of what a weatherman should be!

  4. Dave Visbeck Says:

    Uncle George also used to do a televised classroom science show, back in the mid-1960’s, when he lived in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

  5. He is still alive. I spoke to him last week. Lives in Woodland Hills (or Calabasas, not sure of the city dividing line).

Leave a Reply

